Return to Headlines

From the Boardroom: June 28 Special Called Meeting Recap

Posted on 06/29/2021

June 28, 2021, Special Called  Board Meeting Recap 

During its June 29, 2021, special called meeting, the Bladen County Board of Education opened its meeting with the following members in attendance: Chris Clark, Tim Benton, Gary Rhoda, Cory Singletary,  Alan West, Glenn McKoy, and Roger Carroll. Absent were Dennis Edwards and Vinston Rozier. The Board took the following action:

  1. Approval of its Meeting Agenda

 Action Items

  1. Revised Summer Pay - presented by Susan Harrison to align compensation pay of Summer Camp Site Coordinators (APs) to teacher compensation pay. The Board approved unanimously.
  2. Budget Amendments - presented by Susan Harrison to align year-end balance transfers and adjustments to allow for year-end close out of the 2020-2021 school year. The Board approved unanimously.

Closed Session - To go into closed session for the purpose of discussing personnel, as per NCGS 143.318.11(a), to consult with an attorney, if needed, as per NCGS 143.318.11(a)(3), and to discuss student reassignment and student discipline as per the 1974 Family Rights and Privacy Act.

  1. Approval to enter closed session for personnel and to consult with legal counsel

After returning from closed session, the following Board members Chris Clark, Tim Benton, Cory Singletary,  Alan West, Glenn McKoy, and Roger Carroll took the following actions:

  1. Certified / Classified Personnel - presented by Dr. Beatty for Board approval; Board approved unanimously.

After no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:00 PM.

The next regular monthly meeting will be held on July 19, 2021, at 6:00 PM. 

Bladen County Board of Education Representatives

District 1: Mr. Glenn McKoy, (Vice-Chair) -
District 1: Mr. Gary Rhoda -
District 2: Mr. Roger Carroll (Board Chair) -
District 2: Mr. Tim Benton -
District 3: Mr. Chris Clark -
District 3: Mr. Alan West -
District County-wide: Mr. Dennis Edwards -
District County-wide: Mr. Vinston Rozier, Sr., -
District County-wide: Mr. Cory Singletary -